22
Apr
10

Let the games begin

Fans of the TV show “Friends,” Greene and Blake made Phoebe Buffay’s hit “Smelly Cat” the 2010 Clothes Off Open Invitational’s theme song.

When the abnormal becomes the new normal, one must make their life interesting again.

That is the philosophy of the co-presidents for the 2010 Clothes Off Open Invitational. Part of photogenX, an organization using photography as a tool for cultural transformation, Layne Greene, 27 of Kentucky, and Lindsay Blake, 28 of Omaha, felt the group of 11 girls needed a new challenge.

“We just like to LIVE and dance and challenge ourselves in every possible way,” Greene said. “Physically, mentally, spiritually, emotionally – this competition does it all.”

Blake inspired the competition after claiming she could wear her favorite outfit for three months straight.

“I just love my athletic blue t-shirt,” Blake said. “It’s comfortable and cute and I think I look pretty good in it.”

“Like Naomi said, even when we are in the best of situations, we still try to make things difficult for ourselves,” Hennighausen said. “It’s always my preference to stay fresh and clean.”

While not every girl is participating, six felt up to the challenge. According to Blake, the rules and guidelines are simple, but strict enough to make the competition interesting.

Sarah Hoover, 21 of Montana, is the frontrunner in the invitational and the main competition for the other contestants.

“I helped inspire this competition by my lifestyle,” Hoover said. “This is my life, it doesn’t matter what I wear; I can win this thing.”

Hoover is often found rolling out of bed in her clothing from the previous day.

Natalia Park, 27 of Argentina, placed her money on Hoover winning.

“May the best one win,” Park said. “But my bet is Sarah, cause that’s how she lives.”

Some believe this competition should not be allowed to take place.

“I find this contest disgusting and contrary to the laws of nature,” Andrew Greenplate.

The only New Zealander in the competition, Naomi Haussmann, 20, claimed to be forced into the “Clothes Off” but has confidence in her ability to last.

“I have impeccably good hygiene and can probably out last everyone,” Haussmann said.

Turning on her closest friend, Haussman believes Cambria Finzel, 22 of Colorado, will be the first to pull out of the competition because of her choice in wearing a jean skirt.

While sad that her friend picked her as the first loser, Finzel believes it is true.

“I just don’t think these bright leggings will be as appealing to me in a week,” Finzel said. “I’m an artist and I express myself through clothing and get really bored with the same thing.”

“Sarah will quietly stand, lurking in the background until everyone else is over it,” Hennighausen said. “She will be the winner.”

Anne Hennighausen, the mediator of the invitational, refuses to join in but will give a “big hug” to the first one out.

“It’s a noble effort,” Hennighausen said. “But I’ll keep a safe distance from the competitors.”

Jaylene Olson, of Canada, is the youngest competitor and a contestant solely to avoid laundry.

“Always love an excuse for that,” Olson said.

Olson feels Greene and Blake will be Sarah’s toughest competition.

“Layne seems pretty determined,” Olson said. “But Lindsay is pretty fired up.”

Greene and Blake opened the competition to their global friends through their Web site, “Living Life with Layne and Lindsay”.

“We hope that our friends across the globe are not only cheering us on, but also participating,” Greene said.

Greene and Blake are waiting until the end to determine whether or not this competition will turn into an annual event.

“I see this invitational morphing into a yearly fundraising competition,” Blake said. “Where people, globally, can wear their favorite outfit for a long period of time to help support future track participants.”

If any global friends are participating in the 2010 Clothes Off Open Invitational please submit a photo to laysayyouwish@googlemail.com

“If people back home, not living this life, are doing this competition – I’m pretty impressed,” Olson said.


1 Response to “Let the games begin”


  1. 1 Bee
    April 23, 2010 at 5:54 am

    I think your dedication and excitment is so inspiring…. but like the hair extravaganza…. I am not this challenges biggest fan, which is in no way a representaton of that way I feel for you guys. I love you all… just not some of the things you choose do. xoxoxoxox 🙂


Leave a comment


wordpress stats

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other subscribers
April 2010
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930